The Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral
Articulating Anglican Identity and Beliefs from those of other Christians

The Churches of the Anglican Communion found it necessary to articulate the Anglican identity when Ecumenism between Church groups started to emerge in the late-19th Century. In 1888, the Bishops of the Third Lambeth Conference articulated the Anglican identity with the so-called Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral, which was based on four-points:

The Scriptures

We believe that the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments contain all things necessary to salvation, and as being the rule and ultimate standard of faith.

The Creeds

We believe that the Apostles' Creed, as a Baptismal Symbol, and the Nicene Creed, are the sufficient statements of the Christian faith.

The Sacraments

We believe that Christ has ordained two Sacraments, namely Baptism and the Eucharist, which are generally necessary for our salvation.

The Historic Episcopate

We believe that the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church has been administered by and with those whom the Church has called to be Bishops, and said Bishops are in a line of succession going back to Christ's Apostles.

The Five Marks of Mission

The marks were identified as mission statements over several meetings of the Anglican Consultative Council, and were adopted by the Anglican Church of Canada.

To Proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom

To Teach, Baptize and Nurture New Believers

To Respond to Human Need by Loving Service

To Seek to Transform Unjust Structures of Society, to Challenge Violence of Every Kind and to Pursue Peace and Reconciliation

To Strive to Safeguard the Integrity of Creation and Sustain and Renew the Life of the Earth

The Thirty-nine Articles
The historical defining statements of Anglicanism

The Thirty-nine Articles of Religion, sometimes called the XXXIX Articles, are a set of statements initiated in 1563, and finalized in 1571, which sought to distinguished the emerging beliefs of the Church of English from those of the Roman Catholic Church, as well as other Protestants in Europe. At one time, Anglicans being ordained were required to assent to the Articles, however, since the mid-20th Century, Anglican Churches have moved away from requiring this of the clergy.

The Articles are organized into four groups

The Catholic Faith

Articles I to VIII deal with credal statements.

Personal Religion

Articles IX to XVIII deal with the topics of sin, justification, salvation, and damnation.

Corporate Religion

Articles XIX to XXXI deal with the institutional church, the councils of the church, worship, ministry, and sacramental theology.


Articles XXXII to XXXIX deal with clerical celibacy, excommunication, traditions of the Church, and other issues.


The Catechism
Summary of our Christian Faith

One summary of Anglican beliefs in the Catechism as found in the Book of Common Prayer. This is an instructional summary to be used with persons preparing for Confirmation, or for those who have already been confirmed but are being received into the Anglican Communion.